Associate Member Awards

Associate Leaders Award

MASBO’s Associate Leaders Award was created to recognize an individual associate member who has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the school business profession. It is MASBO’s highest honor for individuals who work in the industries that support school business management and who have demonstrated exemplary support to MASBO and the school business community.

The recipient of the Associate Leaders Award will receive an award trophy, and be officially recognized at the MASBO Annual Conference in May, as well as in the MASBO newsletter and on our web site.

This award is presented every other year. Any current MASBO Active member can nominate an associate member for this award, using the on-line nomination form:

Read more and submit a nomination.

2014 MASBO Associate Leaders Award Presented to Tom Deans

Tom Deans

Tom Deans, recipient of 2014 MASBO Associate Leaders Award

MASBO’s 2014 Associate Leaders Award was presented to Tom Deans of Knutson, Flynn and Deans. Tom has served as legal counsel to numerous Minnesota school districts and cities in the areas of municipal and school finance, reorganization, elections, legislation and school and municipal law. He is general counsel to the Minnesota School Boards Association and served as the legal part of the MSBA lobbying team from 1978 through 2011. He also represents the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus (MSDLAF). Tom has been a trusted colleague, advisor and friend to MASBO members and districts throughout the state, and has also served as a presenter at our annual Legislative conference for many years.

Past Award Recipients:

2012 Carol Loehr, PFM Asset Management
2011 Joel Sutter, Ehlers
2010 Tom Gallagher, Marsh & McLennan

Copyright © 2017 Minnesota Association of School Business Officials (MASBO). All rights reserved.